Hi, I'm Maddie mays! 

Thanks for stopping by. I am a personal chef and caterer based out of the Ravenswood area of Chicago. I've been a general culinary enthusiast since I can remember and have more than thirteen years in the restaurant and hospitality industries. 

I grew up in the suburbs of Chicago, where my family's household centered around the kitchen table. Whether it was my mom's honey chicken on Friday nights, an afternoon snack of my sister's chocolate chip cookies or one of my dad's epic Sunday night theme dinners, food always had a way of unifying the four of us.

I began personally exploring the kitchen around as a teenager after in introduction to Food Network. With Ina Garten and Rachael Ray as my teachers, I eagerly sought out any opportunity to test out new recipes or throw an impromptu dinner party. From then on, I was completely hooked. 

After I left for college, my love affair with cooking carried over into my work. While studying Psychology and Film at the University of Michigan, I spent my weekends selling some of the best artisanal foods in the world at the famed Zingerman's Deli, where I worked for five years. Following graduation, I also joined the team at Detroit's beloved Sister Pie bakery churning out pies and cookies designed to share with your fellow sisters (and brothers).  

After six years of Michigan living, I made the move back home to Chicago where I have since worked as a manager at Floriole Bakery, sold cookbooks at Read It & Eat, written food content for Make It Better Magazine, and taught cooking classes at The Social Table. These combined experiences have shaped my passion for simple, flavor-forward food best shared among loved ones. 

As a personal chef and caterer, I strive to carry out this philosophy with each dish that hits your table. Through my weekly meal prep and dinner party services, my goal is to get clients as "mad" on food as I am and make gathering around the table an enjoyable, delicious and unifying experience. 

5 fun facts about me...

  1. I lived in Florence, Italy for five months and miss it every day.

2. I share a birthday with Beyonce.

3. I have a major weakness for Indian food, breakfast cereal, guacamole and a good dry cider.

4. I am a certifiable cat lady and am head over heels for my two kitties, Bowie & Bella.

5. I'd love to become proficient in tap dancing, French and needle-point.